The Constituent Assembly of India (Part-2)

The Constituent Assembly of India (Part-2)

We are providing you with the important points to remember about the constituent assembly of India, for SSC CGL, MTS, CPO, CHSL, Railway etc.

Important Committees of the Constituent Assembly and their Chairmen

  1. Committee on the Rules of  Procedure – Rajendra Prasad
  2. Steering Committee – Rajendra Prasad
  3. Finance and Staff Committee – Rajendra Prasad
  4. House Committee – B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya
  5. Order of Business Committee – K.M. Munsi
  6. Ad hoc Committee on the National Flag – Rajendra Prasad
  7. Committee on the Functions of the Constituent Assembly – G.V. Mavalankar
  8. Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights, Minorities and Tribal and Excluded Areas – Vallabhbhai Patel
  9. Minorities Sub-Committee – H.C. Mookherjee
  10. Fundamental Rights Sub-Committee – J.B. Kripalani
  11. Union Powers Committee – Jawaharlal Nehru
  12. Union Constitution Committee – Jawaharlal Nehru
  13. Drafting Committee – B.R. Ambedkar

Drafting Committee

» Among these major committees, the most significant was the Drafting Committee.

» Drafting committee was assigned with the responsibility to prepare the Draft constitution.

» On 29 August 1947, the Constituent Assembly set up a Drafting Committee under the chairmanship of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar to prepare a Draft Constitution for India.

Important points to remember about Constituent Assembly

» Initially, the number of members was 389.

» After partition, some of the members went to Pakistan and the number came down to 299. Out of this, 229 were from the British provinces and 70 were nominated from the princely states.

» Dr. Sachchidananda Sinha was the first temporary chairman of the Constituent Assembly.

» Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected as the President and its Vice President was Harendra Coomar Mookerjee.

» B N Rau was the constitutional advisor.

» The assembly first met on 9 December 1946.

» The Muslim League had boycotted this meeting citing their demand for partition.

» On 13 December, Jawaharlal Nehru moved the ‘Objective Resolution’.

» This resolution enshrined the aspirations and values of the constitution makers.

» This resolution was unanimously adopted on 22 January 1947 and it became the Preamble to the Constitution.

» The National Flag of the Union was adopted on 2 July 1947.

» The time taken by the assembly to frame the constitution: 2 years, 11 months and 18 days.

» Money spent in framing the constitution: Rs.64 lakhs.

» On 24 January 1950, ‘Jana Gana Mana’ was adopted as the national anthem.

» The final document had 22 parts, 395 articles and 8 schedules.

» The assembly had met for 11 sessions.

» The draft was published in January 1948 and the country’s people were asked for their feedback and inputs within 8 months.

» The last session was held during 14 – 26 November 1949.

» The constitution was passed and adopted by the assembly on 26 November 1949.

» The constitution came into force on 26 January 1950 (which is celebrated as Republic Day).

Also read:

Nature and Sources of the Constitution

President of India: Short Notes

Eligibility to become the President of India

Powers & Duties of the President of India

Impeachment of the President: Short Note

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Prashant mishra says:

    Thank you …Your
    classes…Your post make me understand.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.