The Constituent Assembly of India (Part-1)

The Constituent Assembly of India (Part-1)

We are providing you with the important points to remember about the constituent assembly of India, for SSC CGL, MTS, CPO, CHSL, Railway etc.

Important Facts:

» A constituent assembly is a body of representatives which is composed for drafting a constitution.

» The idea of Constituent assembly of India was first put forward by MN Roy in 1934.

» In 1935, it became the official demand of INC.

» It was accepted in August 1940 in the August.

» On the basis of the framework provided by the Cabinet Mission, a Constituent Assembly was constituted on 9th December, 1946.

» It was first elected for undivided India but after partition, some of its members ceased to exist as a separate constituent assembly was created for Pakistan.

Number of members of Constituent Assembly

» Initially, its total membership was kept 389.

» After partition, the Constituent Assembly of India had 299 representatives.

» These included 229 members from provinces and 70 from princely states.

» There were total nine women members also.

» The basis of divisions of seats was “population” roughly in 1:10 Lakh ratio.

First meeting of Constituent Assembly

» The first meeting of the Constituent Assembly took place on December 9, 1946 at New Delhi.

» Dr Sachidanand was elected as the interim President of the Assembly.

» However, on December 11, 1946, Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected as the President and H.C. Mukherjee as the Vice-President of the Constituent Assembly.

Objective Resolution

» The Objective Resolution was moved on December 13, 1946 by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.

» This Resolution was unanimously adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 22 January 1947.

» It defined the aims of the assembly and enshrined the aspirations and values behind the Constitution making.

» On the basis of the Objectives Resolution, India’s Constitution gave institutional expression to the fundamental commitments: equality, liberty, democracy, sovereignty and a cosmopolitan identity.

» The preamble of the constitution of India is derived from Objectives Resolution.

Functions of the Constituent Assembly

1. Framing the Constitution.

2. Enacting laws and involved in the decision making process.

3. It adopted the National flag on July 22, 1947.

4. It accepted and approved India’s membership of the British Commonwealth in May 1949.

5. It elected Dr. Rajendra Prasad as the first President of India on January 24, 1950.

6. It adopted the National anthem on January 24, 1950.

7. It adopted the National song on January 24, 1950.




You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.