SSC GK Polity: Parliament of India (Part-1)

SSC GK Polity: Parliament of India (Part-1)

Here we are Providing you the Indian Polity notes on Parliament of India for various competitive exams in 2018, like SSC CGL, CHSL, MTS, Railway, Banking etc.


◈ Parliament is the supreme legislative body of a country.

◈ Parliament consists of the President of India, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

◈ Normally, three Sessions of Parliament are held in a year:

(i) Budget Session (February-May)

(ii) Monsoon Session (July-August)

(iii) Winter Session (November-December).

Rajya Sabha

◈ The Rajya Sabha represents the states and the Union Territories.

◈ Rajya Sabha is that it is a permanent body, it cannot be dissolved, but one-third of its members retire every two years.

◈ The membership of the Rajya Sabha cannot exceed 250.

◈ Out of these 250, the President nominates 12 members.

◈ Since Rajya Sabha represents States in Indian Union, its members are elected by the State legislatures.

Qualifications to become a Rajya Sabha member:

◈ He/she should be a citizen of India and of minimum 30 years of age.

◈ He/she should take an oath or affirmation stating that he will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India.

◈ Any Indian citizen can be the Rajya Sabha elections irrespective of the State in which he resides where elections are to be conducted through open voting system.

Tenure of Rajya Sabha member:

◈ Every member of Rajya Sabha has a tenure of six years.

◈ Since one-third of its members retire after every two years, the house gets new members in every two years.

◈ The members of Rajya Sabha are entitled to re-election. But, a member elected for a mid-term vacancy will serve the remaining period only.

Lok Sabha

◈ The Lok Sabha is the house of parliament that represents the people.

◈ Lok Sabha is not a permanent body.

◈ It is elected directly by the people on the basis of universal adult franchise.

◈ The maximum membership of Lok Sabha is 550.

◈ Of these 550 members, 530 are directly elected from the States while 20 members are elected from the Union Territories.

◈ The President can nominate two members of the Anglo-Indian community.

◈ The representation to the Lok Sabha is based on population.

Qualifications to become a Lok Sabha member:

◈ Any Indian citizen is eligible of becoming a member of Lok Sabha if he/she fulfills the following qualifications:

◈ He/she should be not less than 25 years of age.

◈ He/she should take an oath or affirmation that he holds true faith and allegiance in the Constitution and that he will uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India.

◈ He/she must be registered as a voter in any Constituency in India.

◈ Person contesting from the reserved seat should belong to the Scheduled Caste or Scheduled Tribe.

Tenure of Lok Sabha member:

◈ The normal term of Lok Sabha is five years.

◈ But the President, can dissolve it before the expiry of five years term on the advice of Council of Ministers.

◈ In the case of national emergency, the term of Lok Sabha can be extended for one year at a time.

Also read:

Preamble of the Constitution of India

Parts of Indian Constitution

Schedules of Indian Constitution

Directive Principles of State Policy

You may also like...

4 Responses

  1. September 5, 2018

    […] SSC GK Polity Notes: Parliament of India […]

  2. September 5, 2018

    […] SSC GK Polity Notes: Parliament of India […]

  3. September 6, 2018

    […] SSC GK Polity Notes: Parliament of India […]

  4. September 8, 2018

    […] SSC GK Polity: Parliament of India (Part-1) […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.