SSC GK History Study Material: Rashtrakuta Dynasty

SSC GK History Study Material: Rashtrakuta Dynasty

The Rashtrakuta Dynasty – History Study Material & Notes for every competitive examination such as, SSC CGL, MTS, CHSL, CPO, RAILWAY, BANK etc.

History of Rashtrakuta Dynasty:

Rashtrakuta was the royal dynasty that ruled over the regions of south Gujarat, Maharashtra and north Karnataka.

The Rashtrakutas rose to power between 6th and 10th centuries among the dynasties of south India.

According to popular belief they were of Kannada origin.

Their capital was Malkhed near Sholapur.

It has been recorded that the earlier rulers of Rashtrakuta dynasty were Hindus but later rulers were Jains.

Dantivarman (752-756 CE)

The founder of Rashtrakuta dynasty was Dantidurga or Dantivarman who defeated Gurjaras and captured Malwa from them.

He later Annexed Chalukya kingdom by defeating Kirtivarman II

At that time in history if Indian Sub-continent, the Pala dynasty and the Pratihara dynasty of Malwa.

Krishna I (756-774 CE)

Krishna I was son of Dantidurga.

He was a great conquerer who defeated the Ganga dynasty and the eastern Chalukyas of Vengi.

He is most remembered for commissioning the Rock-cut monolithic Kailash Temple at Ellora.

Dhruva (780-793 CE)

Dhruva was by far the best ruler of the Rashtrakuta dynasty.

He ruled for a short span of time but within this short time he entered into struggle with the Gurjara-Pratihara King Vatsyaraja and defeated him signally.

He also like wise defeated the Pallavas of Kanchi and the Pala King Dharmapala of Bengal.

Govinda III (793-814 CE)

Next important ruler of Rashtrakuta Dynasty was Govinda III who won over several North Indian Kingdoms.

He extended the Rashtrakuta empire from banaras to broach and from Kannauj to cape comorin.

It was during his time that the tripartite struggle for control over Kannauj was at peak between the Palas, the Pratiharas and the Rashtrakutas.

Amoghvarsha I (800–878 CE)

He was the successor of Govinda III.

Amoghvarsha is considered the greatest ruler of Rashtrakuta Dynasty who ruled for 64 long years.

He was a devout Jain, who was initiated into Jainism by Jinasena.

Amoghvarsha was a patron of art and himself authored “Kavirajamarga” in Kannada language. 

Amoghvarsha I is credited with establishment of the Rashtrakuta capital at Malkhand or Malkhed situated in present day Gulbarga district of Karnataka.

He assumed the title of Viranarayana after defeating the Eastern Chalukyas.

His reign was peaceful otherwise, which supported and enriched the arts, literature and religion in the empire.

He was a religiously tolerant ruler who took keen interest in arts and literature while maintaining peace in his empire, for this reason he is often referred as the “Ashoka of South”.

Krishna II (878–914 CE)

Krishna II was the successor of Amoghavarsha I.

His reign saw revolts from Eastern Chalukyas, and hence the size of empire was reduced.

Krishna III ‎(939 – 967 CE)

The last powerful and efficient king of the Rashtrakutas was Krishna III.

He had a prolonged struggle with Mahipala, the Gurjara king.

He also succeeded in conquering Tanjore and Kanchi.

In the middle of the 10th century for a time he succeeded in defeating the Tamil kings of Chola kingdom.

But towards the end of the same century the Rashtrakuta King Kaka was defeated and deposed by Taila or Tailapa, the Chalukya king of Kalyani.

With Kaka’s defeat the Rashtrakuta power came to an end.

He built Gandmartandamitya and Krishneshwara temple at Rameshwaram.

During his reign the great kannada poet Ponna rote Shantipurana.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.