Road Transport System in India

Road Transport System in India

Competitive Exams GK Geography notes on road transport system in India. General Awareness Study Material & Notes on National Highways, SSC CGL Tier-1 2018, RAILWAY, UPSC, PCS, BANK PO etc.

Important Points:

◈ India’s road network is one of the largest in the world.

◈ The total length of roads is more than 33 lakh km.

◈ Roads are classified into National Highways, State Highways, District Highways, Village Roads, Border Roads, etc.

◈ National highways are maintained by the Central Government, State highways by the respective state government while District highways by the respective District Board.

◈ Border roads and International highways are also die responsibility of Central Government.

◈ The present length of the National Highways in India is approx. 45,000 km.

◈ They constitute only 2% of the total road length and carries nearly 40% of the road traffic.

National Highways Authority of India (NHAI)

◈ The NHAI was constituted by an act of Parliament, the National Highways Authority of India Act,1988.

◈ It is responsible for the development, maintenance and management of National Highways entrusted to it and for matters connected.

◈ The Authority was operationalized in Feb 1995.

The National Highways Development Project (NHDP)

◈ The NHDP is a major effort to expand and upgrade the network of highways.

◈ NHAI often uses a public-private partnership model for highway development, maintenance, and toll-collection.

◈ The NHDP is currently operating in three phases: The Golden Quadrilateral, North-South East-West Corridor, and other minor port connectivity projects.

◈ The Golden Quadrilateral (5,846 km) connects four major cities: Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, and Kolkata.

List of Important Indian National Highways:

NH 1: New Delhi – Ambala – Jalandhar – Amritsar.

NH 2: Delhi – Mathura – Agara – Kanpur – Allahabad – Varanasi – Kolkata.

NH 3: Agra – Gwalior – Nasik – Mumbai

NH 4: Thane and Chennai via Pune and Belgaun.

NH 5: Kolkata – Chennai

NH 6: Kolkata – Dhule

NH 7: Varanasi – Kanyakumari

NH 8: Delhi – Mumbai (via Jaipur, Baroda and Ahmedabad)

NH 9: Mumbai – Vijaywada

NH 10: Delhi – Fazilka

NH 11: Agra – Bikaner

NH 12: Jabalpur – Jaipur

NH 24: Delhi – Lucknow

NH 27: Allahabad – Varanasi

NH 28: Barauni – Lucknow

NH 29: Gorakhpur – Varanasi

NH 56: Lucknow – Varanasi

NH – 7 is the longest highway of India.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.