Yourclasses: Best Preparation website for SSC, Banking & Railway Exams

Rail Transport System in India

Rail Transport System in India

In this article, we have provided details about Indian Railway Zones, Headquarters and Divisions. It will be useful for upcoming Railway exams and other competitive exams such as UPSC, SSC and Bank exams.

Railways in India important facts:

◈ Indian railway system is the largest in Asia and the fourth largest in the world.

◈ The first train ran in India between Bombay and Thane, a stretch of 34 km on April 16 1853.

◈ The second train ran between Howrah and Hooghly in 1854.

◈ The headquarters of Indian Railway is in New Delhi.

◈ The first electric train in India was ‘Deccan Queen’. It was introduced in 1929 between Bombay and Poona.

◈ Indian Railways has the second biggest electrified system in the world after Russia.

◈ The total route covered is more than 63,000 km.

◈ The total number of railway stations in India is 7,100.

◈ The longest railway platform in India is at Gorakhpur (UP).

◈ Mumbai is the destination where maximum number of trains in India head for.

◈ The longest train route is of ‘Himsagar Express’ from Jammu Tavi to Kanyakumari. It covers a distance of 3,726 km and passes through ten states.

◈ The first Metro Rail was introduced in Kolkata on October 24, 1984. The two stations connected were Dumdum and Belgachhia.

The Indian Railways operate in three different gauges:

◈ Broad Gauge Railway (Distance between rails is 1.67 m).

◈ Metre Gauge Railways (Distance between rails is 1.00 m).

◈ Narrow Gauge Railways India (Distance between rails is 0.762 or 0.610 m).

Indian Railway Zones – Headquarters – Divisions

1. Central (Mumbai): Mumbai(CST), Bhusawal, Nagpur, Pune

2. Western (Mumbai): Mumbai(Central), Vadodara, Ratlam,Ahmedabad,Rajkot, Bhavnagar

3. Northern (Delhi): Ambala, Delhi, Lucknow, Moradabad, Ferozpur

4. Eastern (Kolkata): Asansol, Howrah, Malda, Sealdah

5. Southern (Chennai): Chennai, Madurai, Palghat, Trichy, Trivandrum, Salem

6. East Central (Hajipur): Danapur, Dhanbad, Mughalsarai, Samastipur, Sonpur

7. East Coast (Bhubaneshwar): Khurda Road, Sambalpur, Waltair

8. North Central (Allahabad): Allahabad, Agra, Jhansi

9. North Eastern (Gorakhpur): Lucknow, Izzatnager, Varanasi

10. North East Frontier (Guwahati): Katihar, Alipurduar, Rangiya, Lumding, Tinsukia

11. North Western (Jaipur): Ajmer, Bikaner, Jaipur, Jodhpur

12. South Central (Secunderabad): Guntakal, Guntur, Hyderabad, Nanded, Secunderabad, Vijayawada

13. South East Central (Bilaspur): Bilaspur, Nagpur, Raipur

14. South Eastern (Kolkata): Adra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur, Ranchi

15. South Western (Hubli): Bangalore, Hubli, Mysore

16. West Central (Jabalpur): Bhopal, Jabalpur, Kota

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.