Polity Notes on State Legislature

Polity Notes on State Legislature

SSC GK Polity Notes on the State Legislature in Indian States. This Polity Notes on State Legislature is Very useful for all competitive exams,SSC CGL, MTS, CPO, CHSL, Railway etc.

Legislative Assembly (Article 170):

The legislature of State consist of the Governor and one or two Houses.

The Indian Constitution allows states to have either a unicameral or bicameral legislature.

State governments legislatures are bicameral in seven states (UP, Maharashtra, Bihar, Karnataka, Jammu & Kashmir, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana) and unicameral in the rest.

Legislative Assembly / Vidhan Sabha

Legislative Assembly, is the lower house state legislature.

Members of a Vidhan Sabha are direct representatives of the people of the particular state as they are directly elected citizens.

Its maximum size as outlined in the Constitution of India is not more than 500 members and not less than 60 members.

However, the size of the Vidhan Sabha can be less than 60 members, in the states of Goa, Sikkim, Mizoram and the Union Territory of Puducherry.

The Governor can appoint 1 member to represent minorities.

Those elected or nominated to Vidhan Sabha are referred to as members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

Each Vidhan Sabha assembles for a 5-year term.

During a State of Emergency, its term may be extended past 5 years or it may be dissolved.

Legislative Council/ Vidhan Parishad

Legislative Council is the upper house in those states of India that have a bicameral legislature.

Legislative Council is a permanent body and cannot be dissolved

Member of the Legislative Council (MLC) serves for a 6-year term, with terms staggered so that the terms of one-third of a Council’s members expire every two years.


MLCs must be:

  • a citizens of India
  • at least 30 years’ old
  • mentally sound
  • not an insolvent
  • and on the voters’ list of the state for which he or she is contesting an election.
  • He or she may not be a Member of Parliament at the same time.

Points to Remember:

The size of the Vidhan Parishad cannot be more than one-third the membership of the Vidhan Sabha

However, its size cannot be less than 40 members (except in Jammu and Kashmir, where there are 36 by an Act of Parliament.)

Also Read:

SSC GK Polity Notes on Union & its Territories

Local Self-Government (Panchayati Raj System)

Important Polity Notes On Emergency

SSC GK Polity Notes: Citizenship


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!