Major Sources of Indian Constitution

The following table illustrates the major sources of Indian Constitution

1. The United Kingdom

  • President (Nominal Head)
  • Cabinet System of Ministers
  • Parliamentary type of Government
  • Post of Prime Minister
  • Bicameral Parliament
  • Council of Ministers
  • Provision of Speaker in Lok Sabha Legislation
  • Citizenship
  • Writs

2. The United States

  • Preamble
  • Fundamental Rights
  • Independent Judiciary
  • Judicial Review
  • Impeachment of President
  • Removal of Judges (of Supreme Court & High Courts)
  • Functions of Vice-President

3. Canada

  • Federal System (with strong Center)
  • Residuary powers in the Center
  • Appointment of Governors (in states) by the Center
  • Advisory Jurisdiction of Supreme Court

4. Australia

  • Principle of co-operative federalism
  • Freedom of Inter-State trade
  • Trade and Commerce
  • Concurrent List
  • Joint siting of the two Houses of Parliament

5. Ireland

  • Directive Principles of State Policy
  • Presidential Election
  • Nominating the members of Rajya Sabha

6. France

  • Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity in the Preamble
  • Republic

7. Russia

  • Fundamental Duties
  • Idea of Social, Economic, and Political Justice in Preamble

8. South Africa

  • Procedure for amendment
  • Election of Rajya Sabha members

9. Germany

  • Emergency powers to be enjoyed by the Union
  • Suspension of Fundamental Rights during emergency

10. Japan

  • Procedure Established by Law

11. Govt. of India Act 1935

  • The federal scheme
  • Role of federal judiciary
  • Office of the Governor
  • Emergency provisions
  • Public Service Commissions
  • Administrative details

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.