Major Islands of the World (Part-1)

Major Islands of the World (Part-1)

Here, we are giving a list of the Major Islands of the World that will help the readers for enhancing GK for competitive exams like SSC CGL, MTS, CHSL, CPO, Railway etc.

What is Island?

✦ An Island is a land mass (smaller than a continent) that is surrounded by water.

✦ There are three types of Island: Continental Island; Oceanic Islands; and Tropical Island.

✦ An island in a lake or river may be called an eyot or holm.

✦ A group of geologically or geographically related islands is called an archipelago.

List of the Major Islands of the World

Greenland (North America)

  • It is the largest island in the world.
  • Its capital is Nuuk (Godithab).
  • It was discovered and named by the Norse explorer Eric the Red in 986 A.D. and settled in coastal pockets by Norse colonies.
  • Only 5% of its area is habitable.

New Guinea (‎Indonesian archipelago)

  • It is the island of the east Malay Archipelago to the north of Australia.
  • It is divided between the independent state of Papua-New Guinea in the east and the
  • Indonesian province of West Irian in the west.

Kalimantan (‎Indonesia)

  • A region of Indonesia, comprising the southern part of the island of Borneo.
  • It comprises of the Saba province of Malaysia, the country of Brunei and the Kalimantan province of Indonesia.

Madagascar (Indian Ocean)

  • It is the fourth largest island in the world.
  • It lies in the Indian Ocean, off the east coast of Africa from which it is separated by the Mozambique Channel.
  • Antananarivo is its capital.
  • Rich in mica, graphite, and chromite, its chief exports include vanilla, coffee, clove and sugar.

Baffin (Canada)

  • This is the fifth largest in the world.
  • It is situated at the mouth of Hudson Bay.
  • The western part largely remain covered with ice with extensive glaciers.
  • Coastal fishing stations include Frobisher Bay, Cape Dyer, and Cane Dorset.

Sumatra (‎Indonesia)

  • It is the seventh largest island of the world, separated from the Malaya Peninsula by the Strait of Malacca.
  • Its largest city and port is Medan.
  • It produces rubber and timber for export and its oil and other minerals provide three-quarters of Indonesian’s income.

Honshu (Japan)

  • It is the largest of the four main islands of Japan.
  • Tokyo, Yokohama, Osaka, and Nagoya are situated in this island.
  • The highest mountain of Japan (Mt. Fuji – 3776 m), and the largest Lake Biwa lie on this island.

Great Britain (United Kingdom)

  • England, Wales, and Scotland considered as a unit is known as Great Britain.
  • The name is also often used loosely to refer to the United Kingdom.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.