GS Notes on Buddhism for SSC Exams

GS Notes on Buddhism for SSC Exams

Important Notes on Buddhism for SSC CGL. Read here complete GK Study Notes for SSC Exams (CGL, CHSL, CPO, Steno, MTS, RAILWAY etc.)  In this, we have discussed important points on Buddhism.


Buddhism, religion and philosophy that developed from the teachings of the Buddha. Spreading from India to Central and Southeast Asia, China, Korea, and Japan, Buddhism has played a central role in the spiritual, cultural, and social life of Asia, and during the 20th century it spread to the West.

Gautam Buddha (563 BC – 483 BC)

  • The founder of Buddhism was Gautam Buddha, was born as Siddhartha.
  • Siddhartha was born in 563 BC at Lumbini (now in Nepal) in the Sakya clan of Kshatriya.
  • The mother of Siddhartha was ‘Mahamaya’ and father was Sidhdhodhana.
  • Siddhartha was married to Yashodhara. He also had a son named Rahul.
  • He home and became an ascetic at the age of 29 in search of truth and end of sorrows . This event in Buddha’s life is known as “Mahabhishkramana”.
  • Buddha’s teachers were – Alara and Udarak.
  • After seven years of roaming around, at the as of 35, Siddhartha got enlightenment at Uruvela while meditating on the bank of river Niranjana under a Peepal (Banyan) tree. This tree is called the Bodhi Tree. The place is known as Bodh gaya.
  • Buddha attained the knowledge on the Poornima of Vaishakha month.
  • He then gave his first sermon at Sarnath (Varanasi). This historic event in buddha’s life is known as “Dhammachakra Parivartan”.
  • Attained Mahaparinirvana at Kushinagar (identical with village Kasia in Deoria district of UP) in 483 BC at the age  of 80 in the Malla republic.
  • Various notable rulers of his time were Buddha’s disciples such as Prasenjit, Bimbisara, and Ajatsatru.
  • Vardhmana Mahavira (Jainism) was a contemporary of Gautam Buddha (Buddhism).

Buddhist Councils:

1. First Council: At Rajgriha, in 483 BC under the chairman ship of Mehakassaapa (King was Ajatshatru). Divided the teachings of Buddha into two Pitakas – Vinaya Pitaka and Sutta Pitaka. Upali recited the Vinaya Pitaka and Ananda recited the Sutta Pitaka.

2. Second Council: At Vaishali, in 383 BC under Sabakami (King was Kalasoka). Followers divided into Sthaviravadins and Mahasanghikas.

3. Third Council: At Pataliputra, in 250 BC under Mogaliputta Tissa (King was Ashoka). In this, the third part of the Tripitaka was coded in the Pali language.

4. Fourth Council: At Kashmir (Kundalvan), in 72 AD under Vasumitra (King was Kanishka). Vice-Chairman was Ashwaghosha). Divided Buddhism into Mahayana and Hinayana sects.



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.