GK Notes On Solar System (Part-1)

GK Notes On Solar System (Part-1)

Dear Readers, here we are giving important notes on solar System for exams like Railways RRB, SSC CGL, SBI PO, SBI Clerk, IBPS Clerk, and IBPS PO. So understand the basics of the Solar System in these GK Notes.

The Solar System

The Sun is at the one of the two “centers” of the Solar system and the planets revolving around it in elliptical orbits. Let us take a look at some quick facts about the Solar System:

▣ The closest planet to Sun is Mercury and the farthest is Neptune.

▣ Pluto is a dwarf planet – relegated from its status as the ninth planet.

▣ The eight planets of the solar system are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune.

The Planets

▣ There are a total eight planets in the solar system –

▣ The planets are divided in the two groups – Inner planets and Outer planets.

Inner planets – Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars. These are also known as terrestrial planets or rocky planets. These are denser and have a shorter periods of revolution.

Outer planets – Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune. These are also known as Gas Giants or Gaseous planets. They are big in size and have a longer periods of revolution.

▣ Jupiter is the biggest planet in the Solar System and Mercury is the smallest.

1. Mercury

  • Closest planet to the Sun.
  • Orbits the Sun the quickest.
  • No significant atmosphere.
  • Rotation period is longer than its orbital (revolution) period.
  • No natural satellites (moons).
  • Can be seen from the earth only before sunrise and after sunset.

2. Venus

  • Known as Earth’s twin.
  • Hottest planet in the solar system.
  • Dense atmosphere of gases and chemicals including sulfuric acid clouds.
  • Revolves around the sun in clockwise manner while most others are revolving in anti-clockwise.
  • Can be seen from the earth only before sunrise (Morning Star) and after sunset (Evening Star).
  • No natural satellites (moons).
  • First planet visited by a spacecraft.

3. Earth

  • Only planet in the solar system to be known to support life.
  • Has water in all three states – liquid, solid and gas.
  • Gasses present in the earth’s atmosphere are Nitrogen, Hydrogen, Oxygen, Carbon Dioxide etc
  • It takes 23 hour 56 minutes 46 seconds to rotate around its axis.
  • It takes 365.26 days to revolve around the Sun.
  • The Ozone layer present in the Earth’s atmosphere protects it from the ultra violet rays.
  • Moon is the only natural satellite of the Earth.

4. Mars

  • Known as the ‘Red Planet’ due to presence of iron-rich red soil.
  • Phobos and Deimos are the two moons of Mars.
  • Has the largest known volcano (and second tallest mountain) in the solar system – Mons Olympus.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.